Go Devils! Radio Coverage
GHS Rosters by Name
GHS Rosters by Year
Records by Year
Records by Opponent
Homecoming Results & Queens
Home & Season Openers
Mr. Football Award
Post Season & Playoff Records
Coaching Records
Conference Records
Milestones & Streaks

wgrvlarge.gif (9141 bytes)




Mr. Football

Greeneville High School has eight nominees for the TSSAA Mr. Football Award and four winners.

Prior to 2017, the Mr. Football Awards were divided into three categories for each division:  Back, Lineman, and Kicker. 
Starting in 2017, one award will be given for all players in each division, as well as a Kicker award in each division.

1989 Brigham Lyons Class 3A Back Nominee
1993 Dustin Moore Class 4A Back WINNER
2002 Cody Baugh Class 4A Back Nominee
2010 William Carmichael Class AA Back WINNER
2011 Terrell Rollins Class AA Lineman WINNER
2011 Jamel Hall Class AA Lineman Nominee
2015 Desmond Dabbs Class 4A Back Nominee
2017 Cade Ballard Class 4A WINNER

Cade Ballard Named Mr. Football Winner

Monday, November 27, 2017
by Ron P. Metcalfe

Greeneville High's QB Cade Ballard has been named the Class 4A Mr. Football in Tennessee. Ballard becomes the fourth winner from GHS out of eight nominees. GHS will face Springfield in the Class 4A State Championship Game on Friday. Airtime on WGRV and WIKQ is 3PM Eastern, Kickoff at 4PM Eastern.

This year's other finalists were Stanton Martin from Anderson County and Dontae Smith from Spring Hill. Other nominees were Kamron Liggett from Marshall County and Michael McGhee from Chattanooa Central. Greeneville has faced three of those four in the playoffs.

Five semifinalists in each classification were announced on November 3. There are six classifications in Division I and three in Division II. Three finalists for each category were announced on November 13 and attended today's awards ceremony in Nashville. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2017 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

Previous Mr. Football winners from Greeneville include Dustin Moore in 1993, William Carmichael in 2010, and Terrell Rollins in 2011. Former GHS nominees include Brigham Lyons in 1989, Cody Baugh in 2002, Jamel Hall in 2011, and Desmond Dabbs in 2015. West Greene's Dalton Boles is the only other nominee ever from Greene County, having been nominated in 2011.

home    l    contact us


2005 Philbeck Designs.
All rights reserved.